Skip to content

Almonte launches 2014 Democratic campaign for governor

May 14, 2012

Former state auditor general Ernest Almonte has thrown his hat in the ring for the 2014 governor’s race, starting by filing a notice of organization with the state Board of Elections.

Via email, he says:

I will create an infrastructure for opportunity for the citizens and businesses in the State of Rhode Island.

I will do this relying on my core values of Integrity, Reliability, Independence, and Accountability.

Almonte’s entry marks the start to what could be an intriguing Democratic primary. Speculation already centers on the two best-liked elected officials in the state, Providence Mayor Angel Taveras and state Treasurer Gina Raimondo, as potential candidates. 

Almonte has said he was drawn to the idea of running by Rhode Island’s lackluster economy:

I don’t want to be sitting around when I’m 70 years old, saying, I should have stepped in and I didn’t, and I watched the state flounder.

I know I have the skill set and I have the people around the country that can help me, my friends, that are very successful at what they do, that I could bring in to help solve the problems.

As a business-oriented Democrat, Almonte could have crossover appeal to the independents who form Rhode Island’s largest voting bloc. Yet the North Scituate resident lacks Raimondo’s support among unions, and Taveras’ vote-rich political base in Providence.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mister Guy permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:23 pm

    “Yet the North Scituate resident lacks Raimondo’s support among unions”

    Which unions still support Mrs. Raimondo after last year’s pension “reform” fiasco??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,262 other followers

