Skip to content

Ruggerio says he takes “full responsibility,” plans to continue in office

March 28, 2012

UPDATE: Paiva Weed statement:

Here’s a statement from Senate President Teresa Paiva Weed:

Leader Ruggerio is addressing the legal issues which arose last evening. This obviously concerns me, but I am reassured by the fact that he is accepting full responsibility for his actions. I am confident that this issue will not distract him from his duties and that he will continue to be an effective leader in the state senate.

Senate Majority Leader Dominick Ruggerio has issued the following statement about his arrest:

Last evening the vehicle I was driving in Barrington was pulled over by the Barrington Police.  I declined a breathalyzer test.

I accept full responsibility for my actions last evening and regret how this may impact my family, my constituents, my colleagues and the Senate. I look forward to resolving this matter and continuing to serve my constituents as vigorously as I have for the past 32 years.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jef Nickerson permalink
    March 28, 2012 8:48 pm

    Would Teresa Paiva Weed be standing by Mr. Ruggerio confident that he would, “continue to be an effective leader in the state senate,” had he been running through the streets of Barrington randomly shooting a rifle? That is basically what he did when he got into a car drunk. Thankfully no one was hurt, but his actions deserve much more than an, ‘oh goodness, I’m sure he’ll do better next time.’

    His statement, as quoted above does not show him taking full responsibility for his actions, he says he was pulled over and refused a breath test, he does not admit that he was drunk or address how stupendously reckless that was.

Trackbacks

  1. Oopsie! Apparently the RI Senate thinks Drunk Driving is no big deal. — Greater City: Providence
  2. Analysis: In stormy seas, Paiva Weed sets a middle path « On Politics

Leave a Reply

